top of page

Into The Night, Into The Darkness

Updated: May 6, 2019

Written By and Copyrighted to Lydia Stone AKA Twisty.


Music boomed through the streets, pouring out of the clubs and pubs. Drunks and stoners stumbled their way lazily down the pavement, groping and feeling the walls as they struggled.

Jeers and shouts echoed out, followed by broken laughter. Just another Saturday night, no-one could see me. I blended into the shadows, just where I wanted to be.

There was one hitch to my night, the good Inspector Hicks. He was prowling, just like me, sticking to the shadows, because he knew that’s where I would be.

Maybe this would be less of a hindrance and more of a fun development. If the good Inspector wanted to play Cat and Mouse, we could play. I’d even let him think he’s the cat, but there would be no doubt he’d be the mouse by the end of the night.

He’s out alone, off duty I should imagine. Funny, he’s become just as intrigued by me, as I am by him.

“Come on my lads!” a drunkard bellowed less than a foot from me. The noise shot through me, but I didn’t move, every muscle in my body tensed up, just as I had trained them to. Coiled like a viper ready to strike, I waited for the group to fumble past me. None of them even slightly aware they were but inches away from a monster.

Out of the crowd I saw her, standing alone within a gaggle of girls. She was beautiful, her black hair loose and wild. Her dark eyes perfectly framed with deep and shadowy make-up. Her lips plump and glistening. Her delicate frame wrapped in a black and white dress that fell off the shoulders and came down to her knees. Her lovely feet encased in low but elegant heels. Yes, she was perfect.

Inspector Hicks knew my taste by now and had also zeroed in on my lovely lady. Had to hand it to him, he knew beauty when he saw it, I had taught him well. He was walking up to her, his eyes scanning every last nook and cranny he could see. He even looked directly at where I was hiding, and I saw his glimmering blue eyes, yet he looked pale, ill. Had I been wearing him down?

I watched, my body filling with excitement, as Inspector Hicks spoke to the woman. I saw the flash of fear wash across her as she realised what he had approached her for. How delightful, both my toys had come together.

Unable to contain myself any longer, I stretched my limbs and stood up, rolling my neck and clicking my elbows I hunched forward, fawning drunk and began to stumble out into the crowd.

Throwing myself into a bin, I stood, leaning against it and moaned, I was now just within earshot of my toys.

“Please come with me Miss.” Inspector Hicks said desperately, holding himself back from grabbing her by the arm.

“But I don’t know you.” The girl said, innocently, which sent a shiver of pleasure up my body. She even sounded right, her delicate tone enhancing her picture-perfect looks.

“I’m an Inspector, I’m worried about your safety.” Inspector Hicks replied, quickly flashing her his badge. I had to stop myself from laughing, because he was so concerned he was acting far more, shifty than I.

“Why?” the girl replied, and I swelled with glee, my heart felt like it was going to explode, he would have no choice but to leave her alone.

“I, I can’t say.” Inspector Hicks replied, defeated. And I had to look away to hide the slight smile that had appeared on my face.

“Oi, you, leave Bobbie alone!” one of the gaggle said harshly, her finger pointing accusatorily at Inspector Hicks.

So, Bobbie is her name.

“I’m a Police Officer, an Inspector.” Inspector Hicks said defensively, once again showing his badge. This time the chubby blonde scrutinised it before looking back at Inspector Hicks.

“Just because you’re an Inspector doesn’t mean you’re not a creep. Don’t you guys work in pairs? Where’s your partner? Or are you just using your badge to lure girls away from their friends?” The chubby blonde asked, and I had to stop myself from doubling over and laughing myself to tears.

“Ok,” Inspector Hicks began, backing away, “I just wanted to warn your friend there is a predator about, and they’re been going after girls who looked like her.”

“Well you have, now leave.” The chubby blonde said and took a step towards Inspector Hicks, who somehow still seemed to be in two minds.

“I could arrest you for being drunk and disorderly you know.” Inspector Hicks said calmly, and again I felt my sides tighten as I stifled a laugh.

“You could, and I could explain you have been harassing my friend.” The chubby blonde said curtly.

That was it, the final nail in the coffin, and Inspector Hicks gave up and walked off.

Thank you God for the awful reputation the Police have, I couldn’t do what I do without it.


Once I was sure the good Inspector was gone, I lumbered over to a near-by bench and pretended to fall asleep, all the while listening to the gaggle of girls talk over their next move. Bobbie, my Bobbie just wanted to go. This pleased me beyond words.

Now there is no crowd to play up to, the chubby blondes act, and trust me, that’s exactly what it was, had come to an end. Now there was no-one she deemed important enough to judge her, to see, she couldn’t care less what happened to Bobbie. Blondie just wanted to move onto her next entertainment fix. – Ah, how I love the shallow pit we call the human race.

After the briefest of exchanges, where our chubby blonde performer fawned interest in Bobbie’s safety, asking half-heartedly if she wanted her to walk her home. Which was politely refused by my lovely girl. Watching this made my body tingle, how we all play our parts so well.

I saw the group split, and my lovely Bobbie, who had been standing alone in that small group, now truly was just that, alone. The gaggle joined a que for a bar, all laughter and high spirits, their friend already a passing thought.

Strange, how I could picture them at her funeral, our chubby blonde leading the show, thick dark make-up streaming down her face as she gasped and sobbed her way through a speech about how she wished she had just walked Bobbie home that night. All while enjoying the wash of sympathy that came her way.

Checking one more time to make sure I was indeed invisible among the horde on the street, I made my way up the side-street Bobbie had ventured up, which was blessedly empty apart from the two of us.

Jogging slightly, I closed the gap between us just enough so she would be able to hear me. She walked slowly, but with grace, even though she was obviously tipsy. Her body swayed as she took each deliberate stride, trying to keep her feet under her.

“Bobbie, is that you?” I called out with just a hint of confusion.

She turned around, her long, dark, wavy hair flicked around, catching in the slight breeze. And I saw her piercing dark brown eyes look straight at me, they were concerned, and she was crying.

“Who are you?” She asked meekly, wrapping her arms around her shoulders, shielding herself against the cold, or even me.

“It is Bobbie isn’t it?” I asked, rubbing the back of my head and looking sheepish, innocent, harmless.

“Yes.” She ventured, allowing her grip to drop slightly. Her eyes looking me over, trying to find something she recognised, which of course, she wouldn’t.

“I knew it, I haven’t seen you in ages!” I said beaming, my confidence was starting to put her at ease.

“Yeah,” she replied, looking momentarily to one side, she didn’t like to look at me and lie. How sweet.

I looked her in the eye and made a big display of noticing she had been crying. “Oh, I’m sorry. Are you alright?” I asked taking a half step towards her, she didn’t move back, so I completed the action, closing the gap further between us.

“It’s nothing, I’ve just had a bit of a bad day.” Bobbie replied shaking her head as if trying to clear out the memories.

Furrowing my brows, I put my hand around the small of her back and started walking, as uncomfortable as she felt, she tensed up under my touch, she walked with me. I had her.

“Erm where are we going?” She asked nervously.

“I know a good place we can sit and talk, it seems like you need a friend to talk to.” I said calmly and felt her ease slightly as she assumed I had meant a public place.

We reached the more deserted areas of the town and Bobbie was nervously chatting, asking me quick-fire questions without giving me time to answer them. This suited me fine, I didn’t really want to answer them.

When we got to where I wanted to be, I gently stirred her towards the door, she was too busy nattering nervously to notice the change in direction.

“We’re here.” I said slipping my hand out of my pocket and pulling Bobbie towards me, forcing her back against my chest as I pressed the chloroform-soaked cloth against her mouth and nose.

My whole body reeled with pleasure as she jerked and fought me, but it was pointless. The more she tried to fight, the deeper she in-hailed the chemical, and the faster it began to work.

I tried to imagine what she must have been thinking, what she must have been seeing as the light faded in and out, as her world blurred to nothing, all while she gasped for air, with no satisfaction. Just the thought made me absolutely giddy.

When she stopped jerking, stopped twitching, and fell into my grip I let go of her mouth and propped her up with my left arm, as I opened the door to the run-down building with my right hand.

The door opened to two more, this had been a converted set of flats, now it was left to ruin. It also happened to be where Inspector Hicks had lived as a teenager.

The door on the right had been his; dragging Bobbie behind me I opened it, listening as it let out a loud squeal in protest of being disturbed. Beyond the flaking red paint on the wooden door was a set of moulding carpeted stairs. Gleefully, I pushed Bobbie down them, watching as she slid and bumped down the grotty steps, like a rag-doll.

Once she had made her descent, I followed, relishing in the thoughts of what was about to happen. When I reached the bottom, I bent down and hauled Bobbie up by the waist. She was starting to come too, and the sound of her small moans made little blissful bubbles rise, and pop in my stomach.

There were no working lights, however, I had already thought of that, setting up a series of battery powered camping lanterns around the living-room, as well as a few set every so often to guide me there. As I made my way through the flat, Bobbie pressed up against me, I switched each one on as I found them.

I was already wearing my lint-free gloves under my leather ones, and my hat covered my hair, as well my thick coat and jeans, plus I was wearing the same shoes as the good Inspector Hicks, just for good measure.

When we reached the living-room, which I had spent all afternoon covering in plastic sheeting, I lay Bobbie on the bed I had dragged out from the bedroom. Yes, Inspector Hicks bed.

Having laid Bobbie down on it, and chained her up using handcuffs on her legs and arms that attached to the metal bed frame, I went to get changed. The internet is a wonderful place, you can find almost anything. After hacking Inspector Hicks Amazon account, I ordered some protective gear, and had it delivered to the flat, it was waiting in the assigned safe place when I arrived that afternoon to set up.

Of course, I rerouted any alerts about the delivery to an untraceable email, it was hardly even a challenge. For an Officer of the Law, Inspector Hicks left himself woefully unprotected.


In any case, I was now ready to play with my perfect toy. And my word did Bobbie look amazing, barely conscious and confused, she was beginning to move around, and realise how much pain she should have been in after her tumble.

“Wha, what’s happening?” she mumbled slowly, her speech still slurred from the chloroform.

“You came to have a chat.” I replied, leaning over her. Now her face had the spark of recognition, along with fear. Despite the fact I had a mask on, and a white lint-free suit covering me from head to toe, amazing that they sold these, advertising them to house painters.

“No, please.” She murmured, recognising her fate in me.

“Hello?” a man shouted from the top of the staircase.

I remember thinking, ‘No! Not now!’ and lunging at the door to the living-room, tearing through the flat, I knew that voice and I did not want them to spoil my fun.

“Police.” Inspector Hicks said as he started down the stairs, I could hear as he took each step slowly and carefully.

I was moving too fast, fuelled by too much adrenaline to stop now, and we collided at the foot of the stairs, just as he rounded the corner.

“Police, stop!” he commanded, reaching out to try and grab me.

I thrashed and lashed out at him, pinning him to the ground, screaming like an animal as I attacked. Nothing was going through my mind anymore but the need to see him bleed.

The one thing I didn’t count on, was that he would figure me out and call for back up so quickly. But he did, and there we were, I was frantically trying to kill him with my bare hands, unaware of the growing forces that were assembling outside.

“Gabriel Hicks, come outside with your hands up!” the voice bellowed throughout the flat.

I shrieked back, stopping long enough for Inspector Hicks to get his grubby hands around my wrists and cuff them, forcing me to spin around. I laughed as he did, fighting him, making him feel my body against his.

As he wrestled me back up the stairs Bobbie started screaming. He looked at me with so much hate that he pierced the empty core that should have been my soul.

“What did you do Gabby?” He spat.

Shrugging, I smiled back and leant against the wall as a small army ran past us and into the flat. “Nothing,” I began in a smooth, indifferent tone, “You spoilt our fun.” I added leaning close enough to Inspector Hick’s face that I could see his pours.

When they had me in the car, bound and waiting, I listened to one of the other Inspectors asking Inspector Hicks why I would target him. With a sigh he said simply, “She’s my sister, and she’s angry at me for abandoning her.”

Ha, like it’s that easy. I am mad as hell because he left me to die at the hands of our father. But I killed him first. So, now I will kill anything left of myself, not just in life, but in memory too… Inspector Hicks will come to want to kill me, he will know what is to take a life out of sheer unadulterated hate.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page